Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Funny White Spots

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Site Man

Funny White Spots

Post by Site Man »

OLD FORUM POSTS

Posted by Catharine C. Kennedy on July 12, 2002
I am just new to sign painting (being a sign carver, this is a logical extention). I am working on a sign on overlaid plywood, primed with Cooke's primer and painted with latex paint. When I put the one-shot color down, funny white spots appeared. These are covered by a second coat of paint. I've used one-shot colors for a while now, and this is the first problem (opportunity) I've had. What am I doing wrong- or better yet- what should I be doing?!
Thanks
Barbara Schilling
Are the white spots on TOP of the one-shot, or are they "holidays" where the paint crawled away from the surface?
Catharine C. Kennedy
The background is white so perhaps the paint has pulled away. (?)
Barbara Schilling
Perhaps Kent Smith will see this post and jump in. He could probably address the possible chemical reactions more scientifically.