Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Ellis Doughty

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Mike Jackson
Site Admin

Ellis Doughty

Post by Mike Jackson »

Hi all,
I was saddened to receive this note about Ellis Doughty:
Ellis Doughty DOB 04/03 1939 in Moran, Kansas, to November 13, 2008 San Jose Costa Rica

Ellis learned sign trade at a night school taught by self-taught instructor O L Cruzan in Tulsa. In his second year of school Ellis had advanced to be O L’s helper on jobs and in class.

Ellis learned sign trade at a night school taught by self-taught instructor O L Cruzan in Tulsa. In his second year of school Ellis had advanced to be O L’s helper on jobs and in class.

Joined the US Army in 1961 and was assigned to northern Maine with the Missile Air Defense Command and then served in Panama until discharged in 1964.

Ellis returned to Tulsa, Ok and worked with Neon Electric Sign with Larry Caves and Modern Sign Company. Later Ellis met and worked with Harry Davenport at Ace High Sign. Ellis said most of his knowledge came from Harry. “Harry was good, and he always knew the shortest way to do a job… stop and look the work for 15 minutes plan it and then do it! Fast is good”. Ellis said he did this his whole professional career.