Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Old Letterhead Back In the Saddle

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Geary Wootten

Old Letterhead Back In the Saddle

Post by Geary Wootten »

Hey All,

I'm a 60 year old brush man here from California. I've been lettering and screening since the early 1970s. I've lived in a few different states picking "flowers from baskets" where ever I went. Soon after finishing my college days I found myself in the midwest and then to Denver, Colorado. While in Denver in the mid to late 70s I worked for two different sign companies.....Advance Neon and Arapahoe Signs ...both on Broadway. I also tried out my very first sole ownership sign shop for a year there in 79. While at Arapahoe Signs, I worked with two guys, Wil Morton and Archie Anderson and Joe Tedusco (okay that's three guys).... who knew and introduced me to Earl Vehill, Mark Oatis and Noel Weber....who in turn got me over to Bob Mitchell's for some direction in glue-chipping in Golden, CO. So, at the time, I had no idea that these guys' shops I used to just drop in on a couple times and shoot the bull with about "saving the true craftsmanship of sign design" and really, basically trying to emulate those nice old post victorian, art nouveau, and art deco letter forms.....would soon spawn the "Letterheads". I recall Earl's "Casualigraphy" he developed and we all copied. It was a cross between single stroke casual and classic calligraphy. And