Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

New in Signs and questioning !

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Olivier Gaudry

New in Signs and questioning !

Post by Olivier Gaudry »

Hello there !

I'm brand new in sign painting which i recently discovered, i am currently a french graphic designer for 15 years, practicing graffiti, and mainly a typography's lover. To let you know, sign painting has simply disappeared here since decades ^^ After taking infos from some of you (probably) i'm training since one month on various supports (especially on wood panels and on glass). I'm facing a small problem concerning mixing colors. I found 1Shot Lettering Enamels, but no way to find Tinting Black or White in France. I was wandering if i could use the white's Lettering Enamel to mix with others colors ? If someone could take time to respond me would be great.
Thanks.

Olivier.
Mike Jackson
Site Admin

Re: New in Signs and questioning !

Post by Mike Jackson »

Olivier,
You'd be fine just using regular black and white for tinting and shading. I am not sure I ever owned a can of either of the Tinting Whites or Shading Blacks.
Mike Jackson / co-administrator
Golden Era Studios
Vintage Ornamental Clip art
Jackson Hole, WY

Photography site:
Teton Images
Jackson Hole photography blog:
Best of the Tetons
Olivier Gaudry

Post by Olivier Gaudry »

Mike.
It sounds good !
Thanks !
O.
Dan Seese

Post by Dan Seese »