Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Hi, Newbie Here

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Bobby Gibson

Hi, Newbie Here

Post by Bobby Gibson »

Hi everyone,
Just gonna introduce myself...
My name's Bobby, i'm a menswear designer in London, started to practice sign painting in my very limited spare time about 6 months ago and only just discovered this site.
after reading a few old books and blogs, struggling a bit with brush control and many sheets of practice strokes at various brush sizes.... here is my first go at painting a Star Wars quote for a friend o' mine (never seen the film myself)

also.... a mate took a chance on me to paint the pub toilets signs in a pub he runs, initially panicked when i turned up and saw this glass, but had done enough prepping, drawing out the typeface that it wasn't too difficult, but it was difficult!

any feedback and advice would be appreciated!

Cheers!
Attachments
Do or Do Not.jpg
Do or Do Not.jpg (138.38 KiB) Viewed 6101 times
reverse painted with one-shot gold lettering paint with black shading using size 4 mack 189 lettering quill
reverse painted with one-shot gold lettering paint with black shading using size 4 mack 189 lettering quill
Women.jpg (73.91 KiB) Viewed 6099 times
Men.jpg
Men.jpg (53.55 KiB) Viewed 6098 times
Toilets.jpg
Toilets.jpg (70.29 KiB) Viewed 6101 times
pat mackle

Re: Hi, Newbie Here

Post by pat mackle »

Hi Bobbie and welcome.