Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Noob - After some easel advice.

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Neil Turner

Noob - After some easel advice.

Post by Neil Turner »

Apologies if you read my last post on this - I managed to register with a nickname and had to re-register. :oops:

Just wondered what you tend to use for easels? I'm new to sign painting, been working on the flat so far, but wanted to get something or build something so I can work upright.

I've seen things that look just like two uprights, with holes drilled for dowels at regular intervals so you can sit the work on the dowels at the height you want, looked fairly easy to make.

Was also considering the option of buying a simple easel, maybe a table top one, but wasn't sure they'd hold up once you're leaning on them with a mahl stick.

Any advice/opinions?

Thanks.
Lorenzo Petersson

Re: Noob - After some easel advice.

Post by Lorenzo Petersson »

I've tried using one of those three leg easels and using the mahlstick with that was time consuming and tricky.
Maybe one of those large "studio artist" ones would be better?

I recently built one like you said, out of a 2.4x1.2m MDF board and a attached framework of 2"x1" timber to the back of it. Three legs and horizontal supports along the upper and lower edges so the board wouldn't bend and buckle.