Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Wacom Tablet

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Site Man

Wacom Tablet

Post by Site Man »

OLD FORUM POSTS

Posted by Charles Borges de Oliveira on August 25, 2003
Hello Mr. Jackson,

I was hoping you might be able to tell me which wacom tablet or digital tablet would be good for lettering on the computer?(pc) I am new to digital tablets so Im not sure which one to buy. I read an aricle on using a tablet in fontographer you had written a few years back, and was wondering if you had any advice?

Thanks,
Charles
Robin Sharrard
I have a newer Wacom Intutis II 12X12 USB and while I do have the cordless mouse, I think I use the pen 90% of the time. As Mike said, it does take up quite a bit of space, but I couldn't imagine a smaller one. I like drawing large and when I'm presented with a sketch that is too large for the scanner, it is easy to lay it under the transparent flap and trace it right into the computer. It is fairly easy to set a smaller sketch area, or you can select the mouse mode and work in the area of a mouse pad that you designate on the tablet.

I sell airbrushed t-shirts so I also have the Wacom airbrush, and the 12x12 area is just about right for creating new designs for my shirts. While the electronic airbrush is a little more difficult to master than the real one, it does provide a fairly good proximty of what the actual shirt will look like.