Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Breaking in Brushes...

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Doug Fielder

Breaking in Brushes...

Post by Doug Fielder »

Hey there,

I have a bunch of new (old stock) quills and since I am still new to all this, I am wondering what the best way to break-in new brushes is. I find they have very slight shag to the chiseled edge. Is the illustration in the LeBlanc book a good way to cure the shag (the emery board on the edge of the glass)?
I guess this is a helpfull question to many new to the art.

Thanks in advance.
Doug F.
FALLOUT Grafix
Port St Lucie, FL

Formerly from NJ, Formerly from VT,
Formerly from SF, CA, Formerly from NC,
Formerly from CO, FINALLY settled in FL!
Billy Pickett

Post by Billy Pickett »

...You could ruin your brushes if you trim away the hairs "feather" edge. This aspect is (one reason) why the particular type of animal hair was used insead of another kind.

...And, the best way to break in new quills is to paint letterforms with them every day.
Mike Jackson
Site Admin

Post by Mike Jackson »

Doug,
I'd wait for all the responses before doing anything to the brushes, trimming wise. Most are going to be good right out of the shute.

I'll throw in two notes....