Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Shading/shadowing term question

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Sven Lynch

Shading/shadowing term question

Post by Sven Lynch »

First I would like to say hello to everyone and that I am glad to be here among so many fine letter people.

I have been lucky enough informally trained some by Minneapolis sign painter Phil Vandervarrt but I am mostly self taught.

anyway I just thought this would be a good place to ask about this shadow question I have,

Phil taught me how to paint great shadows really quick, He called it a hobo shade. Basically it is a quick shade that is kept at a distance from the actual letters, I guess hobo's in the 30's painted signs really quick so they'd get paid before they missed the next train, or something like that...

I see this shading done all the time but I wonder if there is another term for it.

I was about to refer to it as relief shading but then I wasn't sure, cause I started getting confused about the terms shade and shadow. I think I got it figured out that shading is what I have thought of as a 3D and shadow is like a drop shadow.

this is more of a shadow effect although it can be either or in between.

any ideas on another word for this?
Billy Pickett

Post by Billy Pickett »

...you said it... , "DROP SHADOW".
Raymond Chapman

Post by Raymond Chapman »