Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

trouble with One shot paint

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

yvette rutledge

trouble with One shot paint

Post by yvette rutledge »

HELP!
I'm new to the Forum but I've been lettering for many years, so please forgive me if this question has been asked before. In my shop, Mystic Blue Signs, in New Orleans, we do mostly hand-painted signs, and have used One Shot most of the time.
BUT lately it seems to be inconsistent, maybe even since they changed the formulas to remove lead? Most recently it seems that the always reliable black takes forever to dry and that a new can may be too thin or too thick when it is first opened. Can anyone tell me what is going on?
When I asked my supplier he acted like I'm from outer space. (And no, I don't believe it's as simple as our notoriously high humidity...)
Doug Bernhardt

Re: trouble with One shot paint

Post by Doug Bernhardt »

Hi Yvette. Have noticed the same thing over the years here. It was actually about 2 years ago that I noticed the big change in drying times for the black in particular. One day everything was normal and the next opened a new can to the overnight drying issues. Basically I've just tried to get used to it and am using turps rather than paint thinner......or their reducers with hardener when I'm more desperate.
Danny Baronian
Site Admin

Post by Danny Baronian »