Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Brushes and uses, some questions...

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Michelle Barcomb

Brushes and uses, some questions...

Post by Michelle Barcomb »

Hi all, I have been playing with pinstriping brushes for a few years now, on and off. I like it a lot and still need a lot more practice. :wink: I really want to learn to hand letter though. I am the biggest beginner, I don't know what brushes are needed, when to use them, or even basic technique. I tried the search function but did not enough to make me feel confident I can do it.

Can anyone suggest a good beginner dvd or book, and maybe a few essential brushes (types and what they do)? I am hoping to make a small sign for the entryway to my fathers shop as a birthday present with a personal touch. I have a few months to figure something decent out.

Any help appreciated!

Thanks.
Michelle
Kent Smith

Re: Brushes and uses, some questions...

Post by Kent Smith »

Hand lettering by Mike Stevens both book form and video. (sometimes available at Ebay and Amazon)

Sign Painting Techniques by Ralph Gregory and Signs up to Now by E.C.Matthews have good info on brushes. Also datea and insight from Mac Brush. Early edition Speedball texts have good illustrations on brush technique.

There are other good videos by Steve Kafka, Mark Roberts and many others...check search engines.
erik winkler

Post by erik winkler »