Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Introduction, and of course, a few questions!

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Christopher Lang

Introduction, and of course, a few questions!

Post by Christopher Lang »

Hi all. My Name is Christopher, I live in scenic Brentwood Bay, BC. That's on Vancouver Island, just outside of Victoria. I'm no artist, or anything of the like. What brings me here, is that I've decided to learn to letter, specifically to letter my truck, for shameless self promotion! Now, after some practice, I have done just that. Of course, now that I have a taste for it, I'd like to know how to improve! I find myself looking around the shop, seeing what else could benefit from some lettering!

So, my questions relate specifically to the experience I just had. I used One Shot, and a pounce pattern for layout. Now, in a few places, I was a little heavy handed with the chalk, and in a few places (well okay quite a few!) I clipped the chalk dots on the truck. Do you pros run the pounce wheel a little outside the pattern letters, so you don't get chalk in the paint? I used carpenter's chalk, as I had a bottle of red kicking around of course. Is it better to use something else? Also, how do you decide on what wheel to use to puncture the pattern? Is this choice based on experience, and the size of the lettering?