Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Help needed with pricing hand lettered signs and trucks.

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Tim Bond

Help needed with pricing hand lettered signs and trucks.

Post by Tim Bond »

I work in a metropolitan area in the Midwest USA. I am an old school sign writer. I am having an issue with pricing on hand lettered signs and trucks. With vinyl market it seems that folks believe hand lettering should be cheaper than vinyl. I would like to know if some in this forum might offer some basic guide line pricing on hand lettered signs. I use to get good prices for brush lettering but am a bit lost with pricing these days. Maybe some rough cost guidelines for a pick-up. 2 doors,
A 4' x 8' MDO sign 1 side
Pricing for glass gilding
Wall lettering minimum and per sq. ft.

I realize this is asking for much information, but I sure could use some basic guide lines! say for an intermediate lettering job.

This would help a lot,

Thanks,

Tim
Tyler Tim

Re: Help needed with pricing hand lettered signs and trucks.

Post by Tyler Tim »

Your question is hard for anyone to really answer to many factors to weigh. I'd say, sell your Quality not cost... that would be my advice. Find out what they have in mind for a budget and see if you can offer something that fits it.

Tim