Welcome to The Hand Lettering Forum!
This is an interactive Bulletin Board on the topics of Sign making, design, fabrication, History, old Books and of coarse Letterheads, Keepers of the craft. The Hand Lettering Forum features links to resources, sign art history, techniques, and artists profiles. Learn more about Letterheads at https://theletterheads.com. Below you'll see Mchat has been added as a live communication portal for trial, and the Main forum Links are listed below.

Lettering Brushes

Hand Lettering topics: Sign Making, Design, Fabrication, Letterheads, Sign Books.

Moderators: Ron Percell, Mike Jackson, Danny Baronian

Tom Leonard

Lettering Brushes

Post by Tom Leonard »

Good afternoon,
I recently picked up a few lettering quills ( Mack Series 189L, #0, #2 ) to starting learning how to letter with. I am wondering if anyone can make some suggestions on brushes as well as some practice media ? Once again I am brand new to lettering and I appreciate any suggestions.

Thanks

Tom
Big Papa Custom Ironworks
Tom Leonard
Brighton, CO
Mike Jackson
Site Admin

Post by Mike Jackson »

http://www.theletterheads.com/lhparts/lettering.html

Hey BigPapa,
I hope you have taken the time to review all the feature pages on the site. One of them, linked above, shows and explains much of the information you are asking about. Practice on anything cheap!

There is quite a bit more on the page.
Mike Jackson / co-administrator
Golden Era Studios
Vintage Ornamental Clip art
Jackson Hole, WY

Photography site:
Teton Images
Jackson Hole photography blog:
Best of the Tetons
bill preston

Post by bill preston »

Hi, Big Papa,

I learned lettering---self taught---using flats many years ago. Later, began using quills. Flats IMHO are a little easier, at least in the beginning. They have that nice chisel edge that allows a sharp beginning and end to a stroke. Quills seem to hold a bit more paint, so each type has its advantages.